

DATE: July 25, 2019

TO: Southern Nevada District Board of Health Elected Members

FR: Nomination of Officers Committee, Marilyn Kirkpatrick, Chair

RE: Nomination of Officers Committee Recommendations

The Nomination of Officers Committee met on June 27, 2019 and offers the following recommendations to the Full Board and Public Health Advisory Board for Officers for FY2019 – 2020 for the following positions:

For the Southern Nevada District Board of Health

Chair – Scott Black Vice Chair – Marilyn Kirkpatrick Secretary – Frank Nemec

For the Southern Nevada District Public Health Advisory Board

Chair – Kenneth Osgood Vice Chair – Michael Collins



<u>MINUTES</u>

Southern Nevada District Board of Health Nomination of Officers Committee Meeting June 27, 2019 Upon Adjournment of the Southern Nevada District Board of Health Meeting Southern Nevada Health District, 280 S. Decatur Boulevard, Las Vegas, NV 89107 Red Rock Trail Conference Room

BOARD: (Present)	Marilyn Kirkpatrick – Commissioner, Clark County Frank Nemec – At-Large Member, Physician
(Absent):	Nicole Brisson – At-Large Member, Regulated Business/Industry
ALSO PRESENT: (In Audience)	None
LEGAL COUNSEL:	Annette Bradley, Esq.
EXECUTIVE SECRETARY:	Joseph P. Iser, MD, DrPH, MSc, Chief Health Officer

STAFF: Heather Anderson-Fintak, Michelle Cintron, Amy Hagan, Michael Johnson, Fermin Leguen, Christopher Saxton, John Shannon, Jacqueline Wells

I. CALL TO ORDER

Member Nemec called the meeting to order at 11:15 a.m.

II. <u>PUBLIC COMMENT</u>: A period devoted to comments by the general public about those items appearing on the agenda. Comments will be limited to five (5) minutes per speaker. Please step up to the speaker's podium, clearly state your name and address, and spell your last name for the record. If any member of the Board wishes to extend the length of a presentation, this may be done by the Chairman or the Board by majority vote.

Seeing no one, Member Nemec closed this portion of the meeting.

III. <u>ADOPTION OF THE JUNE 27, 2019 AGENDA</u> (for possible action)

A motion was made by Member Kirkpatrick seconded by Member Nemec and unanimously carried to adopt the June 27, 2019 agenda as presented.

IV. <u>REPORT/DISCUSSION/ACTION</u>

1. <u>Nomination of Chair of the Nomination of Officers Committee</u>; direct staff accordingly or take other action as deemed necessary *(for possible action)*

A motion was made by Member Kirkpatrick seconded by Member Nemec and carried unanimously to appoint Member Nemec as Chair of the Nomination of Officers Committee.

 <u>Approve Nomination of Officers Committee Meeting Minutes – June 25, 2018</u>; direct staff accordingly or take other action as deemed necessary (for possible action)

A motion was made by Member Kirkpatrick seconded by Chair Nemec and carried unanimously to approve the June 25, 2018 Nomination of Officers Committee Meeting minutes as presented.

- 3. <u>Receive and Consider Nominations and Approve Recommendations to Southern Nevada</u> <u>District Board of Health at the July 25, 2019 Board of Health Meeting for Board of Health</u> <u>Meeting for FY 2019 – 2020 for the Following Positions</u>:
 - A. For the Southern Nevada District Board of Health Chair, Vice Chair and Secretary
 - B. For the Southern Nevada District Public Health Advisory Board Chair and Vice Chair;

direct staff accordingly or take other action as deemed necessary (for possible action)

Board of Health Nominations

Nomination interest forms for Chair were received for Scott Black.

A motion was made by Member Kirkpatrick seconded by Chair Nemec and carried unanimously to recommend Scott Black as Chair of the Board of Health for FY2019 - 2020.

Nomination interest forms for **Vice Chair** were received for Marilyn Kirkpatrick and Brian Wursten. Member Kirkpatrick advised that Mr. Wursten wished to rescind his name from this nomination.

A motion was made by Chair Nemec seconded by Member Kirkpatrick and carried unanimously to recommend Marilyn Kirkpatick as Vice Chair of the Board of Health for FY2019 – 2020.

A nomination interest form for **Secretary** was received for Scott Nielson. A motion was made by Member Kirkpatrick to nominate the Chair, Frank Nemec.

The motion made by Member Kirkpatrick was seconded by Chair Nemec and carried unanimously to recommend Frank Nemec as Secretary of the Board of Health for FY2019 – 2020.

Public Health Advisory Board Nominations

Nomination interest forms for **Chair** were received for Michael Collins, Kenneth Osgood and Tina Coker. It was noted that Mr. Collins has served two years as Chair of the Advisory Board and is not eligible for the Chair position.

A motion was made by Member Kirkpatrick seconded by Chair Nemec and carried unanimously to recommend Kenneth Osgood as Chair of the Public Health Advisory Board for FY2019 – 2020.

Nomination interest forms for **Vice Chair** were received for Kenneth Osgood and Michael Collins.

A motion was made by Member Kirkpatrick seconded by Chair Nemec and carried unanimously to recommend Michael Collins as Vice Chair of the Public Health Advisory Board.

V. <u>PUBLIC COMMENT</u>: A period devoted to comments by the general public, if any, and discussion of those comments, about matters relevant to the Board's jurisdiction will be held. No action may be taken upon a matter raised under this item of this Agenda until the matter itself has been specifically included on an agenda as an item upon which action may be taken pursuant to NRS 241.020. Comments will be limited to five (5) minutes per speaker. Please step up to the speaker's podium, clearly state your name and address, and spell your last name for the record. If any member of the Board wishes to extend the length of a presentation, this may be done by the Chairman or the Board by majority vote.

Seeing no one, Chair Kirkpatrick closed this portion of the meeting.

VI. ADJOURNMENT

The Chair adjourned the meeting at 11:22 a.m.

Joseph P. Iser, MD, DrPH, MSc Chief Health Officer/Executive Secretary

/jw